Rinshan Kaihou Cologne at Connichi 2019

Rinshan Kaihou Cologne at Connichi 2019

Saturday,  September 7th, 2019, it’s about noon. An enthusiastic “Tsumo!” can be heard in the rooms of Games Unplugged at Connichi in Kassel.

If you have been at Connichi last weekend probably knows about it: we have been invited to Connichi 2019 in Kassel to show the world the joys of Riichi Mahjong.

Not all of us could get a day off. So Manuel and I left Cologne for Kassel at 15:00. We have 5 Sets and 4 Junkmats with us. We planned for a maximum of 2 to3 tables but it never hurts to have some extra.

A few hours later we check into the hostel, we quickly refresh ourselves and hurry to the convention with enough materials for 3 tables. We arrive by 19:00. We’re welcomed by a surprise: people have been asking for us in the first few hours of the convention quite a lot. The section Games Unplugged is relieved to see us. Kai and Nico have been there quite early but Manuel and I have had all the materials. We can finally fulfill the demand of Mahjong!

We set up a table and start teaching the game to interested people. For that, we adapt the Tibet Rules to our needs. The tables we are provided with aren’t quadratic so we adapt to that by putting the mat diagonally. The demand just gets higher. We set up a 2nd table. I speak my mind: “If this continues, we might need to get another set from the car.”

On Saturday we get visitors that already knew how to play and just want to play with us. Some want to learn beatori. I’m still busy with teaching but table 1 as finishing up their beginner lesson. So they play at table 1.

It’s around noon. An enthusiastic “Tsumo!” can be heard in the rooms of Games Unplugged at Connichi in Kassel. I turn my head towards table 1. Nico announces his hand: “Suuankou tanki matchi!” Those who know what it means are in awe. To the others we explain what a yakuman is.

By the way, congratulations to Nico for his first Yakuman!

Nico’s suuankou tankimatchi (“double” Yakuman)

We get even more people. I look around, but there’s no place for a third table. I walk around a bit. In the entrance area of the 2nd floor, there’s still some space. Since the area of Games Unplugged is the whole 2nd floor I set up a table with high tables there. Those round tables are quite perfect in size. But you have to stand with those high tables. I swipe some high chairs from the balcony. After the lesson, I take the materials back into the room with me. The entrance area can’t be locked up and I’m not a fan of leaving our materials unattended.

But as if the weekend hasn’t already been eventful enough some Japanese people turn up and want to play with us. I learn they have been looking for us on Friday. Sadly, I didn’t get to play them. So if you want to hear more, you’ll have to ask Nico or Manuel.

On Sunday we encounter a familiar problem: we need a 3rd table. So another table is set up in the entrance area. Since it’s for a group of people that already play I leave them and visit once in a while. A little later I’m being called outside: “Thai, can you come quickly? We need help with scoring.” Of course, I get out to help. Huh? A very rare hand awaits me:

riichi ippatsu tsumo pinfu ryanpeikou (Haneman)

Sunday is nearing its end. It was an exhausting weekend. Exhausting but fun. If the Connichi doesn’t mind we’d like to come next year as well.

Comments

  • Fränk | Sep 9,2019

    Suu Ankou Tanki Matchi, nice hand! Congratulations for Nico! And congratulations for the ryan peikou as well! 😀

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rinshan Kaihou Cologne auf der Connichi 2019

Rinshan Kaihou Cologne auf der Connichi 2019

Samstag, 7. September 2019, es ist um die Mittagszeit. Ein enthusiastisches „Tsumo!“ ist in den Räumen der Games Unplugged auf der Connichi in Kassel zu hören.

Wer die Connichi letztes Wochenende besucht hat, weiß es vielleicht bereits: wir wurden auf die Connichi 2019 in Kassel eingeladen, um der Welt die Freuden von Riichi Mahjong näher zu bringen.

Da wir nicht alle Urlaub bekommen haben, machen sich Manuel und ich erst gegen 15:00 auf den Weg von Köln nach Kassel. Wir bringen 5 Sets und 4 Junkmats mit. Wir hatten zwar maximal nur 2 – 3 Tische eingeplant, aber es schadet nicht Ersatz zu haben.

Ein paar Stunden später checken wir dann in der Jugendherberge ein, machen uns schnell frisch und eilen mit Materialien für 3 Tische zur Messe. Ankunft war etwa um 19:00 Uhr. Wir werden von einer kleinen Überraschung begrüßt: die Nachfrage in den ersten Stunden der Messe bereits sehr groß. Der Bereich Games Unplugged ist erleichtert, dass wir endlich da sind. Kai und Nico waren zwar schon früher da, aber Manuel und ich hatten die Materialien. Die Nachfrage nach Mahjong kann endlich erfüllt werden!

Wir bauen einen Tisch auf und fangen an interessierten Person das Spiel zu erklären. Wir adaptieren dazu die Tibet-Regeln. Die Tische sind nicht quadratisch also legen wir die matte diagonal. Aber die Nachfrage wird immer größer. Wir bauen einen zweiten Tisch auf. Ich spreche meine Gedanken aus: „Wenn es so weiter geht, müssen wir ein weiteres Set aus dem Auto holen.“

Am Samstag werden wir auch von Leuten besucht, die bereits das Spiel können und gerne mit uns Spielen wollen. Andere wollten betaori lernen. Ich bin leider mit noch mit Lehren beschäftigt, aber zum Glück wird Tisch 1 frei.

Es ist um die Mittagszeit. Ein enthusiastisches „Tsumo!“ ist in den Räumen der Games Unplugged auf der Connichi in Kassel zu hören. Ich schaue in Richtung Tisch 1. Nico verkündet seine Hand: „Suuankou tanki matchi!“ Die Wissenden staunen. Den anderen erklären wir, was ein Yakuman ist.

Im Übrigen, herzlichen Glückwunsch an Nico für seinen ersten Yakuman!

Nico’s suuankou tankimatchi („Doppelter“ Yakuman)

Es werden immer mehr Leute, ich schaue mich um, in dem Raum, in dem wir uns befinden ist kein Platz für einen dritten Tisch. Wir schaue mich um, und finde im Empfangsbereich Platz und runde Stehtische. Da zur Games Unplugged der ganze 2. Stock gehört, baue ich auf einen Stehtisch unseren dritten Tisch auf. Der runde Stehtisch hat einen angenehmen Nebeneffekt: er hat die perfekte Größe. Aber es ist ein Stehtisch. Ich mopse ein paar hohe Stühle vom Balkon. Nach der Lektion baue ich wieder ab, da der Bereich nicht absperrbar ist und ich ungerne die Materialien alleine lassen will.

Als wäre das Wochenende noch nicht interessant genug, es tauchen ein paar Japaner auf, die mit uns spielen wollen! Ich erfahre, dass sie uns bereits am Samstag gesucht haben! Ich bin leider nicht dazu gekommen, mit ihnen zu spielen. Wenn ihr mehr davon erfahren wollt, müsstest ihr Manuel oder Nico fragen.

Sonntag, das gleiche Problem: wir brauchen einen dritten Tisch. Es wird also wieder im Empfangsbereich ein weiterer Tisch aufgebaut. Da das 4 bereits spielende Leute sind, lasse ich sie spielen und schaue nur ab und zu vorbei. Ein wenig später werde ich aus dem Raum raus gebeten: „Thai, kannst du mal kurz kommen? Wir brauchen Hilfe beim Scoren.“ Natürlich gehe ich raus, um zu helfen. Huh? Eine seltene Hand erwartet mich:

riichi ippatsu tsumo pinfu ryanpeikou (Haneman)

Der Sonntag geht zu Ende, es war zwar ein anstrengendes Wochenende. Aber genau es war so genauso spaßig. Wenn die Connichi nichts dagegen hat, werden wir vermutlich nächstes Jahr wieder kommen.

Comments

  • Fränk | Sep 9,2019

    Suu Ankou Tanki Matchi, nice hand! Congratulations for Nico! And congratulations for the ryan peikou as well! 😀

  • Leave a Reply

    Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.